The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year - Emily Gunnis

The Girl in the Letter: The most gripping, heartwrenching page-turner of the year

By Emily Gunnis

  • Release Date: 2018-08-01
  • Genre: Historical
  • Size: 1.9 MB
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 18 Ratings

Alternative Downloads

Description

'A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times - all hallmarks of a bestseller' Lesley Pearse on The Girl in the Letter

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this gripping novel of long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved.

1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave.

Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret's. Before it is too late.
Sam is pulled into the tragic story and discovers a spate of unexplained deaths surrounding the woman and her child. With St Margaret's set for demolition, Sam has only hours to piece together a sixty-year-old mystery before the truth, which lies disturbingly close to home, is lost for ever...

Read her letter. Remember her story...

Reviews

  • Couldn’t put it down

    5
    By FIDGEY_23
    A great read, captured throughout. Brilliant highlighting of the atrocities of the other stolen generation.
  • Brilliant

    5
    By FancyD80
    A great read from start to finish. A fascinating insight into the mother and baby homes that previously operated and a storyline with characters that make you care. Loved it!

keyboard_arrow_up